Home › West Midlands › Wolverhampton City Council
Wolverhampton City Council
Data availableWest Midlands
27
appeals registered, 2024 (official DfE figure)
47
appeals registered, 2025 (official DfE figure)
Data available. At least one Freedom of Information response gives real, extractable figures on tribunal appeals or outcomes for this council.
Estimated outcome breakdown
Estimated, not reported
Resolved before hearing — 34 (72.3%)
Contested, council lost — 9 (19.1%)
Contested, council won — 2 (4.3%)
Partially split — 2 (4.3%)
This council's own answer doesn't give a usable outcome breakdown. This estimate applies the pooled England-wide outcome rate (no regional sample was large enough to trust on its own) to this council's own real, officially-published appeal volume for 2025 (47 appeals) — see how estimates work.
By decision type
By decision type — "this year" (undated, likely c. 2018-19 per reference number)
| Category (council's own wording) | Appeals | Overturned |
|---|---|---|
| refusal to assess appeals | 0 | — |
| refusal to issue [appeals] | 3 | 1 |
| contents and placement appeals | 8 | — |
Freedom of Information responses
Partially successful
'How many refusal to assess appeals have been registered this year?' - 0 (upheld: n/a). 'How many refusal to issue have been registered this year?' - 3. 'How many of these were upheld?' - 'Two have yet to be heard by the tribunal. One was agreed to issue.' 'How many contents and placement appeals have been registered this year?' - 8. 'How many of the parental preference for placement were named?' - refused under section 12 FOIA (cost exceeds the appropriate limit).
Caveat: No visible date/year stamp appears on the pages retrieved, so 'this year' (the basis for every count above) could not be tied to a specific calendar or academic year from the document text alone; reference number 4324037 and the file's position in the response thread suggest an earlier request (circa 2018-19), but that is inferred, not stated in the letter. The parental-preference/named-placement question (Q6) was refused under s12 FOIA: council estimated a full manual review of 375 EHCP records would exceed the 18-hour/£450 cost limit at £25/hour, so no placement-level breakdown was disclosed.