SEND & EHCP Tribunal Index
HomeYorkshire and the Humber › City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council

City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council

Data available

Yorkshire and the Humber

279
appeals registered, 2024 (official DfE figure)
329
appeals registered, 2025 (official DfE figure)
Data available. At least one Freedom of Information response gives real, extractable figures on tribunal appeals or outcomes for this council.

Estimated outcome breakdown

Estimated, not reported
72.6%
18.2%
Resolved before hearing — 239 (72.6%) Contested, council lost — 60 (18.2%) Contested, council won — 16 (4.9%) Partially split — 14 (4.3%)

This council's own answer doesn't give a usable outcome breakdown. This estimate applies the pooled England-wide outcome rate (no regional sample was large enough to trust on its own) to this council's own real, officially-published appeal volume for 2025 (329 appeals) — see how estimates work.

Freedom of Information responses

Partially successful
Requested by Fraser Knight on 2024-11-01 · answered 2024-12-02 · covers 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024 (partial/not fully recorded)
"Of these appeal cases decided by tribunal, how many were in favour of the council?" - "2020: 5 [cases], 4 Not in Favour. 2021: 11, 6 not in favour. 2022: 15, 4 not in favour. 2023: 55, 51 not in favour. 2024: Full year not recorded; data to be released in January 2025." (By simple subtraction, not stated directly by the Council: cases in favour of the Council would be 2020: 1, 2021: 5, 2022: 11, 2023: 4.) Legal team spend on SEND appeals by year: 2019 £150,874; 2020 £150,502; 2021 £196,309; 2022 £156,602; 2023 £249,231; 2024 £407,176.
Caveat: The total count of SEND appeals RECEIVED (as distinct from cases decided by tribunal) was refused for 2019 and part of 2020 under section 17(1)/1(1)(a) because "the LA has changed data systems and does not have data recorded in its systems for 2019 and part of 2020." 2024 figures were incomplete at time of response.